]
Author / Post
Site Supporter
Site Supporter
National Flag of United States United States
IP Logged
Posted: July/03/2018 at 11:08am  Quote

Quote: The Wirtzer
Abufletcher - I was an English teacher for Tokyo Metropolitan Government.  I lived there for 8 months a year and then spent 4 months on Chichijima island in the Ogasawara Islands group.  The schools on both islands were administered by Tokyo Metropolitan Govt.  I did that stint for 3 years and then went to Chiba to manage a private English language school.Tim

Tim, sounds like an interesting gig!  It's nice to know I'm not the only English teacher building model airplanes!  How did you get started with teaching EFL...and with modeling?  I built Guillow's stick and tissue airplanes as a kid, but once I moved overseas (to Saudi when I was 26) the model building took a back seat for a few decades. After a year in Saudi, my wife and I spent 3 years in Kuwait (me teaching at Kuwait University) then I took a job at Sultan Qaboos University in Oman so we lived there for seven years.  Somewhere along the way we had three kids.  Then for a change of pace, I took at job at a Mexican university in Guadalajara.  After two years there at a barely livable salary I know I had to find a "real" job again, so I responded to a job announcement at my current university.  They flew me over from Mexico for the interview and the family and I moved here a month or so after that.  And that was 20 years ago. 

Back to Top  Printer Friendly Version  Profile  Search 

Lifetime Site Supporter
Lifetime Site Supporter
IP Logged
Posted: July/03/2018 at 4:21pm  Quote

That’s great! I always wanted to go to the Middle East and Gulf States. Closest I got was India in my current job.