] ] ]
]
Author / Post
Site Supporter
Site Supporter
National Flag of United States United States
IP Logged
Posted: August/30/2012 at 5:43pm  Quote

I don't know if there is a time limit for introducing yourself here.  I've been hanging around for a couple years; however, I decided to say hello now since I went ahead and started a build thread here: TF DC-3/C-53 Skytrooper Build

I started building stick & tissue planes about 37 years ago.  I still remember when I graduated up to using silkspan.  My dad taught me how to build and how to fly control line (basic stuff with a Cox trainer).  We started flying RC about 32 years ago with a HeathKit radio he assembled.  We bought a whole setup that came with a pretty darn cool Cessna that was ABS and skinned foam.  Soon after the Cessna crashed, we built a glider and later the Sig Kadet, which were both covered in the really modern MonoKote.  I have stayed with RC modeling and building off-and-on through the years as time allows.  I fly mostly sport airplanes; but have flown gliders, helicopters, electric stuff, cars and boats. 

Twenty years ago I started skydiving.  The picture below is me landing a demonstration jump at an airshow in 2010.  I am a skydiving instructor with my Tandem rating to take passengers hooked to me and Accelerated Free Fall rating to teach others how to skydive on their own.  I also had the chance to help train the Air Force Para Jumpers (PJ's) to do tandem skydives.  The second photo is a shot of our instructor group in front of the "ride" the PJ's had us using.

In 2008 I started building my first "scale" airplane, the Global Skyraider.  My father had purchased the kit back in the 90's and never got a chance to finish it.  I finished building her as an A-1H in dad's squadron markings from when he worked on them while he was in the Navy.  The pics below are a couple "glamor shots" I took when I finished the build in June 2009.