] ] ]
]
Author / Post
Basic Member
Basic Member
National Flag of United States United States
IP Logged
Posted: December/11/2020 at 9:56am  Quote

The Man with the "Right Stuff" passed away December 7th.
A friend sent me this from the Pearly Gates.

Scratch Jennin Taube
Proctor D7
Toni Clark Sopwith Pup
Flight of the Phoenix
GTM 1/3 Fok EV
Kauffmann No.1
Next: Don Smith Ki-27 Nate

Back to Top  Printer Friendly Version  Profile  Search 

Site Supporter
Site Supporter
IP Logged
Posted: December/11/2020 at 10:46am  Quote

Met General Yeager back in the later '90s. I was an aircraft mechanic for Northwest Airlines at the time and they were filming a TV commercial with him in it. I was working in the instrument shop at the time, the gyro shop to be exact which was a clean room within the shop. Next as I recall, the door opened and Chuck Yeager was standing in the doorway. He cordially greeted us, said to keep 'em flying, but that he had to move on. Not a very tall man as I recall, it still was an honor.

Dan

Avatar User Offline Skyediamonds
Site Supporter
Site Supporter
IP Logged
Posted: December/11/2020 at 11:20am  Quote

General Chuck Yeager may not be tall physically, but in my book he’s a giant among us aviators & enthusiasts alike. Never had the honor of personally meeting him.

I’ve seen his interview on YouTube describing some of his test flying. The movie “Right Stuff” shows him flying the NF-104 into near space. During his interview Chuck says he used to fly that plane several times & spin that plane “Oh, about 40 times...”. Are you kidding? Spinning an F-104?? I’ll always look up to him & Hoover as one of the (very) few “Old & Bold.”

I met his chase pilot & close friend, (late) Bob Hoover. He was gracious enough to allow me to take a picture of him posing with my daughter & son. Truly a gentleman.

I’ve read both books of Yeager & Hoover. Incredible exploits!