] ] ]
]
Author / Post
Basic Member
Basic Member
National Flag of United States United States
IP Logged
Posted: June/14/2016 at 7:57pm  Quote

I'm new to RC again, I enjoy modeling and have built planes before along with wood ships etc. I'm 57 years old and wanted a hobby that I can enjoy at home especially during the West Viginia winters and do during warm weather such as flying. I'm a machinist by trade so I'm detail oriented by nature. Do any of you have any suggestions for my first kit build? I particularly like war birds but also enjoy airplanes in general. Any suggestions on have to have tools etc?

Back to Top  Printer Friendly Version  Profile  Search 

Moderator Group
Moderator Group
IP Logged
Posted: June/14/2016 at 8:26pm  Quote

Hi Terry, welcome to RCScalebuilder!

You probably already have a lot of the stuff you need, but a couple of xacto knives and lots of blades (#11s), a nice small saw - pull saw if you can find one - sanding  blocks and lots of several grits of paper, up to 400 (or more if you are really really serious, but 400 is great).  Oh yeah - a building table.  Something flat and not prone to warping.  If you use pins, then these are pretty good LINK - Hobby Lobby used to sell similar pins to the Midwest ones and they were superior, but I could not find them listed.  T-pins work well too.  Or you could use magnets on a steel sheet.  Check the workshop threads and you should be able to find them.  If you go the pin route, then acoustic ceiling tile is great to pin to, or gypboard.

As far as your first kit - if it has been a while you should probably start with a trainer, then a low wing tail-dragger, then something like a PT-19, then anything you want!  Starting off with a warbird is usually a recipe for disaster.

May I also recommend becoming a site supporter ANOTHER LINK  You will get so much more out than you put it, not only the community of friends but focused information, focused on what YOU are interested in.