]
Author / Post
Basic Member
Basic Member
National Flag of United States United States
IP Logged
Posted: June/03/2014 at 3:58pm  Quote

Greetings,

My informal name is "Eskimo" Tom, and I live in Central Minnesota, USA. I am a 51 year old newbie to RC planes and scale building.

I have waited until the stars reached alignment in my life to begin scale RC flight and that time arrived when my wife and I recently bought large parcel of farmland so now I have a place close to home to learn how to build and fly.

I'm teaching myself the basics using a simulator and have built several cheap RC foamies for real life initial practice.

I'm in the process of drawing plans and building a skin and balsa PA-18 about 53" wingspan. I'm buying a few Pat Tritle short kits as well, the Stinson Reliant SR-10 after I get some experience under my belt.

My primary aviation modeling interests at the moment are civilian "golden age" aircraft and the back country bush craft as I'm an Alaskan native.

I believe a rugged bush plane with tundra tires is a good match for a beginner flying on and off a rather rough, crude landing strip that is our gravel driveway.

I have had years of plastic scale model building as a boy. After college I got into electric rc off road cars for quite awhile. I have also played with most of the flight simulators going back to Chuck Yeager's Flight simulators (1988) and all the MS iterations and starting up now with Flight Gear.

I figured as I am approaching pre-retirement I will finally have the time, the place, the patience and the means to begin my journey into RC flight.

Regards,

Tom

Back to Top  Printer Friendly Version  Profile  Search  Web 

Lifetime Site Supporter
Lifetime Site Supporter
National Flag of Canada Canada
IP Logged
Posted: June/03/2014 at 6:37pm  Quote

Welcome aboard