Click logo to return to home page. ]

Home>Forums>Introduce Yourself>Returning after a long assignment Post Reply   New Topic   
Forum Jump  
] ] ]
]
Author / Post
Avatar User Offline davidterrell80
Basic Member
Basic Member
National Flag of United States United States
IP Logged
Posted: September/15/2012 at 8:01pm  Quote

Howdy,

My name is David Terrell. I currently live in Herndon, Virginia; where I work as a contractor, supporting a government agency... one of them "beltway bandits" you hear about.

For almost 20 years, before the events of 2001, I worked as a manufacturing engineer in aerospace. For most of those years, I worked for Bell Helicopter, in Fort Worth, but I also worked for Martin Marietta Denver and Lockheed Martin in Georgia. I helped build a bunch o'stuff, from the Manned Maneuvering Unit to the V-22 Osprey. The "war on terrorism" brought me into active military service and, after retiring from the Naval Reserve, I've stayed involved as a contractor.

I am reentering the hobby after some 25 years of taking care of a child with serious medical issues. Against all medical expectations, my son is living independently. God has been good to me.

Long ago, I was very active in rubber powered scale free flight. Now, I'm back and my, how the hobby is changed.

I started flying with Ultra Micros, a HZ Champ and a PZ UM T-28. They have been a great deal of fun. I have also purchased the BuzzBomb 100 kit from Stephen's Aero, to get back onto building. I really like it.

I graduated to the larger Park Flyer T 28 and have enjoyed it, too. I've bought the UMX Mig 15 & UMX Carbon Cub and, like many people, experienced the servo problems that seem endemic to that aircraft.

I went ahead and bought the subscription service from Stephen's Aero and I am beginning to receive the kits that are part of the subscription. I purchased enough ultra microelectronics to keep five in the air.