Click logo to return to home page. ]

Home>Forums>Introduce Yourself>Hello from South Africa Post Reply   New Topic   
Forum Jump  
] ] ]
]
Author / Post
Basic Member
Basic Member
National Flag of South Africa South Africa
IP Logged
Posted: December/18/2017 at 9:25am  Quote

Hi Everyone!

Just a short note from this side.

I cannot believe it took me so long to find this site! I am a long time RC Builder/pilot, from 1974, but I had a break of more than 20 years and have only recently returned to RC. I am a keen competitor and have in the past flow competitive scale, F3A pattern and Pylon racing. Since my return to RC 2 years ago I have started with F5J (electric launch gliders) and more recently F3A pattern.

But my first love has always been scale, i have set myself a target to have a decent scale plane flying that I can fly in our national championships in May 2018 so the hunt is on! Options I am considering is a Seagull BF 110c as a "kit bash" for what we call "sport scale" but ultimately I would like to build a plane that would be competitive in F4C, and something that is a bit more unique as well as something I could get decent documentation and detailed photos for.

I have always loved the Druine D.31 Turbulent, built a small one as kid and I loved it! I know there are a few plans available but I would like to know if anyone here has a suggestion? I would like a plane of around 1/3 scale if possible. I think it would make a nice scale model as it is not too complicated so detail like instruments could be done really well and it has a wide enough flight envelope to be fun to fly as well.

Any advice or pointers would be appreciated.

Thanks for the great site and hope to interact with many members here in the future!

Rudi from sunny South Africa.

Back to Top  Printer Friendly Version  Profile  Search 

Lifetime Site Supporter
Lifetime Site Supporter
Head Curmudgeon
National Flag of United States United States
IP Logged