]
Author / Post
Avatar User Offline Charles-AC6WU
Lifetime Site Supporter
Lifetime Site Supporter
National Flag of United States United States
IP Logged
Posted: 18/October/2011 at 7:51pm  Quote

Hello all, I guess it's time I introduce myself. I have posted here for a year or so and even posted a build of Dave Bodington's kit of the 1912 Blackburn which I do not intend to fly any time soon (the maiden flight post will have to wait). I'm a retired Civil Engineer, Machine Designer and Draftsman.

My father was a mechanic on aircraft during WW1 and that probably led me to my interest in WW1 and Pioneer aircraft. I am 70 years old, have been building models since 1947 and have always been a scale builder. I began with solid scale and rubber powered models, quickly shifting interest to control-line flying in the late 1940's.

Sometime during the 1960's I tried my hand at powered free-flight and learned quickly that my models flew only too well. A brief experience with an unseen herd of bulls who insisted they had the right-of-way in the pasture I was using for a flying field, helped convince me that free-flight was a done deal. As they surrounded me, the only defense I had was an O.K. Cub .049 engine. I quickly started it in my hand and while running (both it and me), soon reached safety. I also realized then the advantage of a retrievable RC model.

I am entirely self-taught in building and flying and have made every conceivable mistake (and some that hadn't been thought of before) several times. I am a model ship builder as well and an amateur machinist.

My life-long ambition has been to design and fly my own scale models. RCSB has given me all the encouragement that one could hope for so I can no longer put it off. Any and all suggestions are welcome and your patience is greatly appreciated.