] ] ]
]
Author / Post
Site Supporter
Site Supporter
National Flag of United States United States
IP Logged
Posted: June/26/2015 at 11:42am  Quote

Hello My name is Scott Lindsay.  I am from Syracuse, New York which for some of you not familiar with New York it is not any where near New York City.  If you look at a map, Syracuse is pretty much center of the whole state.  I have been flying for roughly ten years and all my planes have been electric power, foam construction, and ARFs.  I have bought a kit a few months back of a Golden Age of Flight plane called the "Pete" but it looks complicated so before tackling that I am going to build a kit from SIG Manufacturing.  Once I have those under my belt, I want to move into scale building and eventually scratch build a WWII warbird.  I am unsure which bird because each country of WWII made some impressive flying machines.  I am true blue American but the Axis Power had some nice looking birds.  I believe this will be a good site to help me fullfill my goal to scratchbuild and get to Top Gun of competition.  I look forward to reading and seeing everyone posts. I like jets but there is just something about a good sounding piston plane streaking through the sky.

Back to Top  Printer Friendly Version  Profile  Search 

Basic Member
Basic Member
Balsa Hacker
IP Logged
Posted: June/26/2015 at 12:40pm  Quote

Hi Scott,
Welcome to RCSB! I know where Syracuse is, that's where my dad was born and lived most of his younger years.

It sounds like you are making a smart transition from ARF's to the building world, building is nothing magic or mysterious.

So you want to design, build, and fly at Top Gun? Its never to late to get started in the contest scene and its a bunch of fun pitting your work against your fellow modelers. But remember, the whole competition thing is actually you against your self and for me it's a matter of constant improvement in both building and flying.